Site Loader

The list of inspired writings that are recognised and received by the Church as making up the Bible. Catholics accept 46 Old Testament  books  and 27 New Testament books as ‘canonical’. This list, while long-established by custom and usage in the Western Church, was only formalised by the Council of Trent in 1546, after Protestant Reformers removed some Old Testament books from the traditionally but informally accepted  Canon (see Apocrypha/Deuterocanonicals). Eastern Christian Churches accept a slightly larger number of books as canonical than does the Catholic Church.